top of page

Little Rays of Sunshine: The Bahay Parola Family Outreach Project


I didn’t had any plans on writing experiences like these, but I have to tell this short scene of my life. If you’ve watched Inside Out, I consider this as one of my core memories. But well, this post won’t be about the movie, but rather something that might just be a lot more than that.

26th of September, which was last week, a community of religious families whole-heartedly worked on a project to bring smiles to girls who were left abandoned by their parents. “Abandoned” sounds like a sad word for these children, doesn’t it? Well, so does left out and parentless. What makes this a story worth telling is not because it’s tragic, but because it’s inspirational.

The Bahay Parola Family Outreach Project is a program under the Global Day of Service celebration to be executed by the communities of Couples for Christ, Youth for Christ and Kids for Christ. I was asked to sponsor the program, to which I did for free since it’s my first time documenting a community outreach program. Well, I wasn’t alone, my dad helped me to take some shots. My parents are also leaders of this community, so I guess that also explains why I did this for free, huh? Moving on, of course as a religious organization, the group gathered up in San Lorenzo Parish where they checked every attendees and prayed before leaving altogether to the city orphanage. It was an hour travel from there since it was downtown and were at the end edge of the city.

I took a picture of this cat at the parish. I couldn't resist.

We were one of the first ones to arrive, and I’d say that it was strange yet soothing that the place was so peaceful and quiet. I actually expected that it would be loud, good loud… you know… children laughing and playing. But it was a complete patch of heaven. The place was so neat and tidy and you could hear crickets not far from the building.

After a while, people from the community started arriving, the place started getting loud and crowded from there. I guess it was the noise that made the children scurry down from their rooms. They joined us in the hallway, where the program would take place, as if they were one of us. The little ones immediately figured out that I was the photographer of the event (well, since I have two cameras with me, that should be easy enough to know that I was documenting the program). I don’t know how to describe the feeling, happy maybe, when they asked me to take photos and videos of them… lots of photos and videos.

They also keep insisting that I look a lot like Ms. Maine Mendoza or “Yaya Dub” (She’s currently the most popular and prettiest star in the country… and yes, I am guilty of the fact that I am somewhat a fan of her). That said, I kept up with that and pretended that I am her in disguise. The girls of course were clever enough to know I was joking, but I was glad it made them laugh. Well, they also asked if they could take a selfie with me… of course. How could I say no.

As the program started, they danced, prayed and introduced themselves. Some of the people from the community spoke in front. We served lunch to them and gave them gifts and donated some supplies for the girls in the orphanage. Watched the program!

Now I know what you’re thinking, that doesn’t seem so interesting at all. It sounds like it was just an ordinary outreach program, nothing too special about it. I’ll give you that, it was indeed just an ordinary outreach program, but it was special. If you could see these orphaned young girls smile as if they have everything in the world, breaks yet warms my heart. All throughout the event, one question echoes my thoughts “Why do they look like as if they’re okay?” They don’t have a real family. They don’t have parents. They share rooms with other girls whom they are not related to in any way. They were abandoned, they should be sad. They were left out, they should be furious. But you can’t see any of those from them.

No words can describe the events what I’ve witnessed at first hand. To see children who are not related in any way by blood or flesh treat each other like sisters left me speechless. They moved me; instead of depression and anger, they’ve decided to live every day in happiness. Yes, they are not fortunate to have parents, but they are fortunate to have found a family that truly loves them. I’m not afraid to say that these girls are a lot stronger by heart than me. They chose to smile instead to sulk, they chose to laugh instead to cry, and they chose to live… believing that God created them not as a mistake, but as an inspiration. God bless these little rays of sunshine and I pray that they shine brighter every day.

Check out my artworks,

photos, and photoshop

designs and brushes!

Social media, designs, tools, tutorials and many stuff, I've blogged about them 

Know more about my world! From history to present!

Questions? You could chat me up right here! Let's keep in touch, friend!

bottom of page